I’m not a gardener by any stretch of the imagination. I’ve planted a few plants in the past and some of them lived. I follow a survival of the fittest philosophy. In other words, the plants shouldn’t expect a lot of help from me – I don’t like heat, bugs, and the disappointment of having everything I’ve planted get eaten by deer. Our yard has a few winners – loropetalum, crape myrtle, lavender, and a lot of short green weeds in the front lawn that look like grass from a distance.

So, in considering a year of locavore eating, buying produce from local farms seems to be a good plan…

But, the call of spring came yesterday and I stopped by Big Bloomers, a wonderful local garden center. I intended to buy only tomato and basil (my summer favorites) plants, but went home with green peppers, canteloupe, watermelon, squash, zucchini, mint, oregano, dill, thyme, coriander, parsley, lemon verbena (smelled heavenly), stevia (to experiment with), catnip (for Allie and Buddy), corn (on a whim) and of course, tomato and basil.

Today I found homes for them all…may they live long and prosper…

Today’s Meals:

  • Breakfast: Steel Cut Oats from the Grain Mill of Wake Forest
  • Lunch: Chef salad with local arugula, cucumber, sugar snap peas, and a few non-local items leftover in the refrigerator
  • Dinner: TBD

20110513-022534.jpg

Strawberries: A Darwin winner from about five years ago

20110513-023142.jpg

A new arrival: watermelon

