Those pesky parsnips…a little internet research about what to do with the parsnips (see answer at the end of the post) and I’m questioning whether locavore is really what I’m pursuing.

In my recipe search, I came across two books, Simply in Season and More-with-Less, both Mennonite World Community Cookbooks (I bought them both). 

Simply in Season features recipes for local food grouped by season – a perfect locavore guide! It has been interesting to switch from asking, “what do I want to cook today?” to “I have these seasonal vegetables, what can I make with them?” The recipes in this book look terrific.

Also a cookbook,  More-with-Less contains recipes and  ideas on “how to eat better and consume less of the world’s limited food resources.” The book has a fairly extensive discussion about protein and protein sources. Protein has been one sticking point for me regarding eating only local foods – it makes environmental and health sense to center more meals around whole grains and legumes, but what if one can’t find local sources for them? My list of locavore exceptions is getting long…and I wonder if this is the right approach…

So, as fair warning, I expect that by July 1, when I plan to start the locavore year, I will have reorganized my thoughts…and possible will start a blog under a different title…

About the parsnips…we tried two approaches: a grated raw version, and roasted with olive oil, salt, pepper, and Italian Seasonings…we didn’t care for either of them. 3 out of 4 of us found the roasted version better, but no takers for seconds!

