Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Well, it was bound to happen at some point – the call of McDonald’s…I think it started with the mere mention of chicken biscuits in yesterday’s post about oatmeal. And then there was the brief, but overwhelming hour where I attempted to clean house…

My dinner plan was to make one of my favorite dishes from the Simply in Season cookbook – “Vegetable Oven Pancake” with a variety of leftover veggies in the fridge. But, as I was the carpool driver with a 5:30 pick up, I wouldn’t be home to cook. So I rationalized…a tiny stop on the way home for a few items on the dollar menu…and then I’ll cook…an excellent use of some of the $129 non-local dollars…and it was!!!

I made two versions of the veggie pancakes for our late “second dinner” – they came out of the oven beautifully puffed and browned. Of course, you’ll have to trust me on this as we ate most of them before I thought to take a photo…

Version one: broccoli and cheese and version two: shitake mushrooms, scallions, and a bit of zucchini and squash

Both delicious and a fantastic way to turn random, leftover veggies into dinner. Here is a link to the recipe in an article by the Pittsburgh Post Gazette. This recipe also has a fruit option which I plan to try…I wonder how it would work with blueberries???

