Tags

, , ,

As a chocoholic, I never would have thought that a non-chocolate item would be a favorite, but I think that these granola cookies may be the best cookies I’ve had (and certainly the best ones I’ve made!)

It helps to start with a delicious granola – in this case, the Peanut Butter Chip granola from the Stick Boy Bread Co., one of the producers in the Carolina Grown food co-op. Adding “the perfect blend of almonds, honey, oats, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, coconut flakes, peanut butter chips, chocolate chips, and a touch of almond and vanilla extracts” to any cookie can’t hurt.

Here’s the general recipe I used – adaptable to any granola. It was inspired by a recipe from a blog, Milk ‘n Cookiezzz. I adjusted the ingredient amounts to reflect the amount of granola I had. It seems to be a flexible recipe; one I plan to try again.

Note to cooks with dogs: be sure to cool the cookies in a place far, far away from the long reach of the puppy…we lost a half dozen of these to a very happy dog!!

Peanut Butter Chip Granola Cookies

1 1/4 c flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/3 to 1/2 c butter (my co-op butter comes in a tub, so measuring is rather time consuming. I just estimate!)

1/3 c white sugar

1/2 c brown sugar

1 egg

1 to 2 tsp vanilla extract (again, estimation…)

1 1/2 cups of granola (what was remaining in the bag…)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350F, spray cooking sheets with cooking spray.

Cream butter and sugars. Add egg and vanilla.

In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking soda, salt and cinnamon. Add to the butter mixture, then stir in granola.

Place rounded teaspoonfuls on baking sheet and bake until light brown (about 12 minutes).

Keep away from dog. 🙂

