It would be nice if these were from my garden...

The good news about my garden is that I will soon have peppers and that the basil and herbs are still doing well. On the other hand, not much else is producing – especially not the squash and zucchini.

Having one’s own garden (one that actually grows food) seems to be an unwritten requirement of locavorehood – a requirement that I am failing at, despite going the extra mile and watering my plants.

But then I had a thought…or maybe just an elaborate rationalization…

As an artist, I have the opportunity to sit in art galleries and talk to visitors. While many of them are other artists and it is nice to discuss technique etc., there are those wonderful folks who come to the gallery because they appreciate art and enjoy collecting it. It works very well to have both producers and purchasers of art. The patron is a highly desirable and necessary part of the equation.

So what if it worked equally well in terms of gardening? Maybe I should accept my role as a purchaser of local food and be a proud patron. I could be a Patron of the Squash…which sounds far better than “lousy gardener”…

