Tags

While I had vowed not to buy any more sweet potatoes until they were the only local food available (there are a few other items that shall not be named on this list), Patrick did not feel constrained by my opinion.

On one of his “go buy anything grown in NC” trips to the grocery store, two large sweet potatoes jumped in the cart. (I actually have a number of good recipes for sweet potatoes, but I thought I’d keep them for Nov-Dec-Jan-Feb-Mar when we will be eating them daily.)

Out of muffins (out of all bread products, really), I opted to use one of those unexpected sweet potatoes in sweet potato bread. A very tasty choice! These came out moist, light and fluffy. I might even be happy to see another sweet potato. But I can wait, really…

Sweet Potato Bread

1 2/3 c flour

1 T baking powder

1/2 t salt

appx. 1/2 t  each cloves, nutmeg, cinnamon, and ginger

1 1/4 c sugar

1/2 c oil

2 eggs

1 C mashed cooked sweet potatoes

Mix together and pour in a greased pan (I used a pan that made 8 mini-loaves). Bake at 350F until done – about 30 minutes.

