Tags

, ,

In the crock pot, waiting to stew...

This was one of the mornings where I needed to cook something in order to have something to write about.

Yesterday, I peeled and seeded the 25 lbs of tomatoes which came Saturday. Since the roasted tomato sauce I made earlier is almost a paste, I thought it would be a good idea to leave this batch of tomatoes more tomato-like (both for versatility and to combine with the thicker sauce on occasion).

I stewed half of the tomatoes yesterday but neglected to photograph them. I popped the other half (minus the tomatoes I’m reserving for this afternoon’s ratatouille project) in the crock pot this morning.

The recipe is vague: a lot of tomatoes (peeled, seeded, chopped), green pepper, onion, sugar, salt, bay leaf…and then I’ll taste it in a few hours to see if needs anything else. Yesterday’s batch was pretty good (in the world of stewed tomatoes).

I’m a bit behind in my cooking…but getting there: I have French Herb Bread baking in the bread machine and plans for the ratatouille and a funky coleslaw (how’s that for advertising?)  to be made later today. I’ll follow Janet’s suggestion to freeze the unused parsley and maybe do the same for the hot peppers…tomorrow’s project the acorn squash..

