Tags

, , ,

It’s Friday and we are almost finished with last week’s produce box…just in time to start over again with a new box tomorrow!

One of the items we received this week was a head of cabbage. I don’t think that I have ever willingly purchased cabbage before so it was an internet recipe search opportunity.

I figured that the Cabbage Soup Diet wouldn’t be all that popular and looked at a variety of coleslaws instead.

While Patrick loves coleslaw, I’ve always avoided it (neither eating raw carrots nor caring for mayonnaise). I found a delicious sounding slaw (Ramen Cabbage Salad) based on ramen noodles (the observant reader will remember that we packed away 20 packs of ramen noodles just before starting the locavore plan). Unfortunately, the recipe called for several ingredients I didn’t have. So I searched again for Balsamic Vinegar recipes as the only vinegar I have is balsamic and found this one: Cole Slaw with Balsamic Vinaigrette.

Not having half of those ingredients either, I mixed the two recipes and came out with the best coleslaw I’ve ever had (granted I have never enjoyed coleslaw, but this was really good. I ate two bowls full before I put it in the fridge…)

Balsamic Ramen Coleslaw

1 head of cabbage, chopped

6 T balsamic vinegar

1 T Dijon mustard

1 T brown sugar

2 cloves garlic

1 ramen seasoning packet

1/2 c olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

Ramen noodles, broken up

I mixed the dressing and added as much of the cabbage as I could to keep a nice cabbage-dressing ratio. Before serving, I stirred in the ramen noodles for crunch.

And now for yesterday’s quiz answers: Anne: A, C, F; Patrick: J, B; Ginevra: D, H, G; Karen: E, I

