I have a new plan.

Dearest friends and family, I’m sure you’ve heard that from me before.

The plan of the week is to work on cooking more efficiently. I spent my time on the train coming home from DC working out a flexible weekly meal plan that would take advantage of the mystery produce box and reduce time in the kitchen. I also hope that if I have desirable meals ready to go there will be less temptation to eat out. Here’s what I came up with:

Breakfast: Muffins, Pancakes, Oatmeal (all prepared ahead in the freezer or refrigerator)

Lunch: P and K: Soups, Veggies, Leftovers (The girls have opted to try out the school lunches…wonder why?)

Dinner: Sun: Focaccia and Cheese, Mon: Veggie/Rice/Lentil Casserole, Tues: Veggie Pancake, Wed: Enchilada or Crepes, Thurs: Potato-based meal, Fri: Pizza, Sat: Burgers or Pasta (This is useful information for those thinking of popping over for dinner…skip Monday…Wednesday might be tasty…) I’ve also purchased some local chicken that I will cook (trying a new method for me) and add to the vegetarian dishes as desired by us omnivores.

Cooking-wise, I think this can be accomplished by cooking 4 hours on the weekend, and a couple of hours Monday (soups) and Wednesday morning. I have discovered that it is difficult for me to cook in the afternoon as I am usually driving around or tired or just don’t want to cook.

As you may be able to see in the schedule above, a lot of this plan depends on making a lot of food on the weekend. I will give it a go tomorrow morning and report back…wish me luck!

