Tags

Hurricane Irene made landfall here in North Carolina a few hours ago – luckily we (living inland) have had only rain and a bit of wind – I send best wishes for a safe day to those living further up the coast…

Despite the hurricane, we received our Food Co-op delivery this morning – I’m thrilled to report that the CSA Mystery Produce Box included “all edible food” which loosely translates to “no greens.” I am particularly excited that there was a head of cabbage in the box so I can make my Ramen Noodle Cole Slaw for a side dish for dinner tonight.

I’ll have to take a closer look at the box to see what dishes to make for the week ahead.

Last week, I made two soups – the lentil one I wrote about and a chicken soup. The chicken soup was a delicious medley of chicken and roasted vegetables. I took advantage of the broth I poached the chicken in and used it as the base for the soup. In addition to the broth and chicken, the soup also contains roasted carrots, potatoes, and onions.

While I do plan to make an effort to quantify my recipes in the future, this will likely be after Rebecca’s city council election this November 8th. In the meantime, I’m pretty happy if I can keep up with the cooking! That said, this chicken soup was very good…I will surely make it again! Besides, it photographs far better than lentil soup.

