Tags

,

It’s apple season!

While I still can’t eat raw apples, I love them cooked. This morning’s project was a batch of apple muffins for Annie (Ginevra is a huge fan of the cheesy egg things). This is my first attempt at apple muffins and I opted for a variation on two recipes. While the muffins were quite good, I will probably tweak the spices and the sugar content. I ordered 40 Gala apples from the co-op so I’ll have plenty of chances to experiment.

Apple Muffins

2 c flour

1/2 c sugar (could lower this a bit)

3 t baking powder

1/2 t salt

1 c milk (tried 3/4 c but it was too dry)

1/3 c oil

1 egg, beaten

1 t cinnamon (would like to try cloves and ginger, for Annie)

1 c peeled, chopped apple.

Preheat oven to 400F. Grease 12 muffin tins (I use silicone liners). Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon and salt. In a separate bowl, combine milk, oil, and egg. Add to dry ingredients and stir until moist. Add the chopped apple. Fill the muffin cups. Bake until done, approximately 20 minutes.

