Tags

, , ,

I’m not sure which is more exciting – my apple squash casserole or the apple peeler I bought which had this recipe in their instruction book.

OK. I am sure – it is definitely the apple peeler. What an amazing invention! I found a website dedicated to its history…but I’ll save that for another post when I take some pictures of the apple peeler in motion…our apple consumption has skyrocketed since the addition of the apple peeler to our home. This phenomenon also may have been influenced by my purchase of 40 apples…but why quibble?

At any rate, the recipe book had ideas for apple pie, shoestring potatoes, and a bunch of delicious sounding apple dishes. It also had one for butternut squash…with my mounting squash collection, it looked like a good choice.

The casserole smells wonderful and Patrick indicated that he liked it. I’m not sure about it…mostly because I haven’t acquired a taste for butternut squash. But, I suspect with further produce box purchases I will end up enjoying this (and maybe the addition of something crunchy on top…or vanilla ice cream…)

Baked Squash and Apple Casserole

from the Back to Basics Peel Away Peeler Instruction Manual

1 small butternut squash (under 2 lbs)

1/4 c cold margarine (I used butter)

1 T flour

2 Apples (peeled, cored, and sliced)

1/2 c Brown sugar

1 t salt

1/4 t Cinnamon

1/4 t Nutmeg

Pare, seed and cut the squash into small slices. Place the squash and apple slices in a baking dish. Blend the rest of the ingredients together until crumbly. Sprinkle over the squash. Cover and back at 350F for 45 to 50 minutes.

