Tags

Here is the first video post for Carolina Locavore – a silent movie!

Not being able to eat raw apples, I hadn’t given a lot of thought to apple peeling convenience. But as we are trying to store local fruit for the future, apples have taken higher priority.

When I ordered the 40 apples from the co-op, I wondered how I would peel them all…I have always found peeling, coring and slicing apples to be a bit of a nuisance. Apparently a number of folks have…thus the invention of the apple parer in the 1800’s. For a nice history of this wonder, check out http://appleparermuseum.com

One of the cool aspects of the apple peeler is that the design hasn’t changed very much and it is entirely mechanical. The one I have has a 5 year warranty which suggests that it is probably a pretty reliable device.

While I haven’t stored any apples yet or baked a pie, the family has eaten a lot of apples – it is just so much fun to use the apple peeler!

I interviewed a family member this morning who requested an apple for breakfast. “It used to be so much work to prepare an apple. It would hurt my teeth to bite into an apple. This is fast and it peels, cores, and slices the apple.” What more could you want?

