This week’s lite local food is the Carrot.

Because the co-op took a few weeks off over the holidays to revamp their systems, I needed to draw on my refrigerator’s inventory for something to make. I found local potatoes, garlic, and quite a few carrots. As carrots are one of the foods that I can’t eat raw, I considered several cooked options (like ginger carrot soup or traditional glazed carrots). I chose the roasted version because, well, I just like roasted carrots (and their friends, roasted onions and potatoes). Delicious!

Roasted Carrots (with Onions and Potatoes)

A combination of roasting veggies – carrots, potatoes, and onions, cut

Fresh rosemary

Garlic, minced or pressed

Olive Oil

Salt and Pepper

Pre-heat the oven to 400F and line baking sheets with foil. Gently toss the carrots, potatoes, and onions with enough olive oil to coat (but as little as possible), garlic and rosemary. Spread the veggies out on the baking sheets and season with salt and pepper. Roast for 40 minutes or until desired brownness.

