Tags

, , , ,

This past weekend, we had the opportunity to sample local NC products at the Carolina Artists Colony here in Sanford. The foods were delicious, and I came home anxious to try out the new items. While I tend to buy fresh NC produce from my food co-op, the NC foods at the Artists Colony centered around jarred yummies like salsas, sauces and jams.

First on the cooking agenda is a chili based on Cane Mountain Farms’ Fresh Tomato Salsa. The sample we tried had ground beef, and I was planning to add some local NC grass-fed beef to my version, but decided to go vegetarian at the last minute.

The process was simple – to the slow cooker, add cans of: chick peas, pinto beans, corn, and diced tomatoes. Stir in the jar of Salsa and cook on high for awhile. We served lunch after about 2 hours of cooking, and I let it continue simmering for another 2 hours. We topped ours with shredded cheese and sour cream. Very tasty! (And easy too!)

